skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • Home
  • keyboard_arrow_right Shows
  • keyboard_arrow_right Edutorials
  • keyboard_arrow_right Mortgage Licensing


Mortgage Licensing

The Housing Hour August 21, 2014

Special Guest


David Luna


Mortgage Educators and Compliance

mortgage educators II

Mortgage Licensing

Mortgage and Real Estate Educators is a national education provider of mortgage and real estate professional development and state approved continuing education (CE).   The course curricula is authored and taught by national industry experts with years of experience in their respective occupations.  The course content is structured using the best practices from educational providers to ensure content acquisition.  As such, Mortgage and Real Estate Educators’ students consistently rank among the top echelon in state industry exams.

Providing relevant and rewarding content is only one of Mortgage and Real Estate Educators’ primary goals; offering access to state licensing regulations and requirements; delivering the latest industry information through our industry links page; and offering registered users access to newsletters, industry updates, professional development tips and class schedules all are important aims for the company.

Shows Topics:

  • What is mortgage licensing?
  • Why did it come about?
  • Why is it important?
  • Last Segment
  • The future of FNMA

Also, read The Housing Hours:

The Liquidity Factor

About NMLS

NMLS is the system of record for non-depository, financial services licensing or registration in participating state agencies, including the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories of Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.  In these jurisdictions, NMLS is the official system for companies and individuals seeking to apply for, amend, renew and surrender license authorities managed through NMLS by 60 state or territorial governmental agencies. NMLS itself does not grant or deny license authority.

NMLS is the sole system of licensure for mortgage companies for 57 state agencies and the sole system of licensure for Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs) for 60 state and territorial agencies.  Several states also currently manage other non-depository financial services entities through the System, such as money transmitters, pawnbrokers, check cashers, and payday lenders.

NMLS is also the system of record for the registration of depositories, subsidiaries of depositories, and MLOs under the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s Regulation G (S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act – Federal Registration of Residential Mortgage Loan Originators), published December 19, 2011.

NMLS was created by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators (AARMR)1 and began operations in January 2008.  It is owned and operated by the State Regulatory Registry LLC (SRR)2, a wholly owned subsidiary of CSBS.

Important Links:

NMLS National Mortgage Licensing System

CFPB Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Tagged as: .

Previous post